If you are Charged With DUI in Coeur d’Alene You Need a DUI Lawyer
Driving under the influence – of drugs or alcohol – is not a very good idea. However, what is even dumber if you are charged with DUI, rightly or wrongly, is to fail to get a Coeur d’Alene DUI attorney to fight your case. The penalties for DUI in Idaho are severe, so you need an expert to help you.
Even if it is your first offense, you can be imprisoned for up to 6 months, and if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .20 or higher there is a mandatory 10 days jail, and it could be up to one year. You can be fined up to $1,000 or $2,000 if BAC is over .20. Your drivers license can be suspended for 90 – 180 days. If BAC is .20 or higher there is a mandatory 1 year suspension after your release from jail.
A second Idaho DUI conviction within five years with a BAC of .20 or more carries a mandatory 30 days in the County jail or up to 5 years in the state penitentiary. Fines are up to $5,000 and license suspension is up to 5 years. An ignition interlock device is mandatory. You really do need the services of an expert Coeur d’Alene DUI attorney to help you fight the case. (Note that this blog post is NOT legal advice; you should ALWAYS consult with a DUI attorney as the specifics of your case and the law may evolve over time).Penalties in Washington Vary
Penalties in Washington can vary according to how high your BAC was. You can be charged with DUI for a BAC of 0.08% if you are over 21 years old, and 0.02% if you are younger. If driving a commercial vehicle the penalties kick in at 0.04%. A DUI in Washington can lead to penalties from the court and also penalties from the Washington Department of Licensing (DOL). When you are arrested for DUI in Washington the DOL will suspend your license for 90 days to 2 years and this begins 60 days after your arrest. You can request a hearing to review your DUI which costs a fee of $375, and if the hearing clears your DUI you will not face suspension. However, you could still be convicted of a DUI in court.
For DUI’s of 0.15% BAC or more or for refusing a test you can be jailed for 2 – 364 days, and your license suspended for 1 year for the BAC level or 2 years for refusing a test. On top of that you can be fined from $1,195.50 to $5,000 and you may also be required to attend alcohol or drug treatment programs.
Whichever side of the state border you are arrested in, our Coeur d’Alene DUI attorneys can help you to fight your case. Contact us immediately for a consultation.